Anruf
+49 (0)40 21998887
Kontakt
service@mymarini.com
Store Information

Montag bis Freitag 09.00h - 16.00h

Richtungen

Eppendorfer Weg 86, 20259 Hamburg/Germany

Eppendorfer Weg 86, 20259 Hamburg/Germany

Montag bis Freitag 09.00h - 16.00h

WATER IS LOVE

Wasser ist für unseren Planeten essenziell. Rund zwei Drittel der Erdoberfläche sind von Ozeanen bedeckt. Ein erwachsener Mensch besteht zu knapp 70 Prozent aus Wasser. Ohne Wasser keine Landwirtschaft, keine Industrie – und kein Leben.

Was vielen Menschen nicht bewusst ist: Der Wasserfußabdruck eines jeden ist viel größer als das alltägliche Geschirrspülen, Duschen und Teekochen. Der indirekte Wasserverbrauch, z.B. bei der Herstellung unserer Kleidung, ist enorm: vom wasser-intensiven Baumwollanbau in oftmals regenarmen Regionen über die Faserveredelung bis hin zum Färben der Stoffe. Hinzukommen die katastrophalen sekundären Auswirkungen der Modeindustrie auf den Wasserkreislauf: Pestizide und Herbizide im Grundwasser und chemisch verschmutzte Industrieabwässer in Flüssen und Meeren. Ist der Herstellungsprozess abgeschlossen und wird die Kleidung getragen, gelangen mit dem Wasser der Waschmaschinen Mikroplastik, Nanopartikel und Waschmittel in den Wasserkreislauf. Wasserverschmutzung findet demnach nicht nur in fernen Ländern, sondern auch im eigenen Haushalt statt. Höchste Zeit, etwas zu ändern.

Wir bei MYMARINI sind uns unserer Verantwortung als Textilunternehmen bewusst. Wasser ist Teil unserer DNA: Durch die Wahl unserer Produktions­partner und Fasern arbeiten wir stets so wasserschonend wie möglich. Doch auch abseits unserer Produktion beschäftigen wir uns viel mit dem Thema Wasser. Unser Ziel ist es, den Wert dieser natürlichen Ressource vielen Menschen bewusst zu machen und unseren Beitrag für den Schutz der Umwelt zu leisten.

Wie können wir nachhaltiger mit der endlichen Ressource „sauberes Was­ser“ umgehen? Diese Frage leitet unser Handeln. Deshalb haben wir die Wasserkampagne ins Leben gerufen. Bildung ist ein wichtiger Teil davon: In Zukunft wollen wir das Wissen über Wasserknappheit und -verschmut­zung in die Welt tragen, um so den Grundstein für eine nachhaltige Veränderung zu legen.

Neben diesem Projekt möchten wir außerdem unsere Kund*innen dazu anregen, die Zukunft im Blick zu behalten: Auf unserem Blog geben wir Denkanstöße und praktisch umsetzbare Tipps rund um das Thema Wasserverbrauch.

Die Weichen sind gestellt: Unser Ziel ist es, komplett wasserneutral zu sein. Damit möchten wir noch mehr beitragen zum Schutz der Meere, die wir lieben, und der Tiere, die darin leben. Derzeit sind wir dabei, den genau­en Wasserverbrauch unserer Produkte zu bestimmen – von der Garnher­stellung bis hin zu den Etiketten mit unseren Produktinformationen. Auch unser Magazin ist ein Schritt hin zu einer nachhaltigeren Welt: Da es kom­plett auf recyceltem Papier gedruckt ist, sparen wir 70 Prozent Wasser und 16 Prozent CO2-Emissionen im Vergleich zu Frischfaserpapier ein.

Etwa zwei Drittel der Erdober­fläche sind mit Wasser bedeckt. Doch das für den Menschen nutzbare Süßwasser macht nur etwa 2,5 Prozent davon aus. Und selbst von dieser Menge sind weniger als 0,3 Prozent für den Menschen relativ leicht zugäng­lich – in Bächen, Seen und Flüs­sen. Den Großteil unserer Süß­wasserreserven machen das Eis in Arktis und Antarktis und das Grundwasser aus.

Die UN-Vollversammlung erkannte 2010 den Zugang zu sauberem Trinkwasser als Menschenrecht an. Doch laut einem Bericht des UN-Kinderhilfswerks UNICEF und der Weltgesundheitsorganisation von 2019 hat jeder dritte Mensch auf der Welt – das sind 2,2 Milliarden Menschen und entspricht fast dreimal der Bevölkerung Europas – kein sauberes Trinkwasser zur Verfügung.

Laut WWF bestehen drei Viertel des Mülls im Meer aus Plastik; jährlich gelangen bis zu 12,7 Millionen Tonnen Plas­tik in unsere Ozeane. Bis zur voll­ständigen Zersetzung des Plastiks können mehrere Tausend Jahre vergehen. Gleichzeitig wird Mik­roplastik zu einem immer größe­ren Problem – auch, weil es be­sonders häufig von Meerestieren mit Nahrung verwechselt wird.

Durch Bevölkerungswachstum und verändertes Konsumverhalten steigt der Wasserverbrauch. Laut UN-Weltwasserbericht 2019 könnte der Wasserverbrauch 2050 etwa 20 bis 30 Prozent über dem heutigen liegen – mit dem voranschreitenden Klimawandel wird sich die Wasserknappheit, die heute schon in vielen Ländern und Regionen weltweit herrscht, noch verstärken.

Ocean Ambassador Jana Leberl

23 Nov, 2020

Ocean Ambassador Jana Leberl

Today we introduce you to Jana Leberl, a doctor from Germany, who seeks to understand the consequences of environmental pollution for the health of human beings. Last Year...
More

Call
+49 (0)40 21998887
Contact
service@mymarini.com
Store info

Monday to Friday 09.00h - 16.00h

Directions

Eppendorfer Weg 86, 20259 Hamburg/Germany

Eppendorfer Weg 86, 20259 Hamburg/Germany

Monday to Friday 09.00h - 16.00h

WATER IS LOVE

Water is essential to our planet: around two thirds of the earth’s surface are covered by oceans. The adult human body is made up of 70 percent water. Without water, there would be no agriculture, no industry – and no life.

What a lot of people do not know is that our individual footprint includes a lot more than just the water we use to wash our dishes, take a shower and make tea. Our indirect water consumption, caused by the production of our clothing, for example, is enormous: from water-intensive cotton cultivation in regions with very low rainfall, to the finishing of the fibers down to the dyeing. Not to mention the catastrophic secondary effects of the fashion industry on the water cycle: pesticides and herbicides in the groundwater and chemically contaminated industrial wastewater in rivers and oceans. Once the production process is completed and the garments are worn, microplastics, nano-particles and laundry detergent make their way into the water cycle with the water from washing machines. Water pollution is therefore not only happening in faraway countries, but right here in our own homes. So it is definitely high time for a change.

At MYMARINI, we are aware of our responsibility as a textile company. Water is part of our DNA: through the choice of our production partners and fibers, we make sure to conserve as much water as possible. And we also dedicate a lot of attention to the subject of water aside from our production. Our goal is to raise awareness for the value of this natural resource and therefore do our part to protect the environment.

How can we use the finite resource of clean water more sustainably? This question affects everything we do, and therefore we also created our water campaign. Education is an important part of that: in the future, we want to educate school children about water scarcity and pollution and therefore lay the foundation for lasting change.

In addition to this project, we also want to invite our customers to keep the future in mind: in our journal on our website we provide food for thought and practical tips on how to reduce water consumption.

The course has already been set: we have made it part of our mission to become completely water-neutral. By doing this, we want to make even more of a contribution to protecting the oceans we love and the marine life in them. We are currently in the process of determining the exact water consumption of our products – from the production of the yarns to the labels displaying our product information. And this magazine is also a step towards a more sustainable world: as it is printed completely on recycled paper, we have been able to save 70 percent water and 16 percent CO2 emissions compared to virgin fiber paper.

Arount two thrids of the earth's surface are covered with water. But the freshwater humans can use only makes up around 2.5 percent of that. Out of this amoint, less than 0.3 percent can be easily accessed by humans, i.e. from streams, lakes and rivers. Most of it is stored as ice in glaciers in the Arctic and Antarctic or lies deep under the earth'S surface as groundwater.
In 2010, the UN General Assembly recognized access to clean drinking water as a human right. But according to a report by the UN's children's relief organization UNICEF and the World Health Organisation (WHO) from 2019, on in three people in the world - which is equivalent to 2.2 billion people and almost three times the population of Europe - has no access to safe, clean drinking water.
According to the World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF), three quarters of the waste in the ocean are made up of plastic; every year between 4.8 and 12.7 million tons of plastic make their way into our oceans. It can take several thousands of years for plastic to fully decompose. At the same time, microplastics are becoming more and more of a problem - also because marine animals mistake them for food.
Due to population growth and changing comsumer behavior, global water consumption has been increasing. According to the UN World Water Development Report from 2019, global water demand by 2050 is expected to be 20 to 30 percent above the level it is now. And with intensifying climate change, the water scarcity that is already apparent in many countries and regions around the world will continue to increase.

Ocean Ambassador Jana Leberl

23 Nov, 2020

Ocean Ambassador Jana Leberl

Today we introduce you to Jana Leberl, a doctor from Germany, who seeks to understand the consequences of environmental pollution for the health of human beings. Last Year...
More